Waiting game

OK, I am going nuts right now.  Graduate school application due dates for the schools that I applied to ranged from December 1st to January 7th.  Since then, I have been waiting…for anything.  I applied to 11 programs.  To date, I have been invited to visit 1 school and have been denied to 2 programs.  The other 8, nothing.  I wish I knew what was going on.  Should I be expecting more invitations to schools?  Have interviews/invitations to visit passed? Should I assume that because I have not been interviewed at other places, that they will deny me?

My assumption at the moment is that the only chance I have to going to graduate school is through the only school that has invited me thus far.  This was my top school going into applications, so I would be happy if I got accepted.  However, just because they invited me does not mean that I will get in.  I just wish that I knew the timeline everyone else is following so I could plan my life accordingly.

In the mean time, I guess I’ll just apply to more jobs.

About myscientificlife

Welcome to myscientificlife! I recently completed my undergrad at State University. I am currently taking a year off of school and applying to graduate schools. This lovely blog is mostly about my journey towards grad school and other things I find interesting, such as food, podcasts, and books. Probably mostly food. You can reach me at myscientificlife@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Grad school applications. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Waiting game

  1. I’ve been doing phone interviews with international students this week. We have an interview weekend coming up soon. BUT, another program in our department hasn’t started yet– we alternate between making decisions in Feb and making decisions in March.

    Some departments focus on admissions after they’ve finished faculty hiring. Depending on the field, some wait until NSF and other big scholarship money is announced.

Leave a Reply

