Pre-grad school goals

I put in the paperwork and am now registered as a graduate student!  Since I am a huge fan of to do lists, I have created one to finish before school starts.  I am sharing it to the world (to all three of my readers) to make myself accountable and hopefully motivate me to accomplish everything on my list.  So here it is:

  1. Help my best friend plan most of her wedding (I’m the maid of honor).  Preferably keeping it cheap.
  2. Take a weekend vacation with my boyfriend, one sans internet and phones.
  3. Read 2 science books.
  4. Read 2 papers a week
  5. Read 2 fiction books
  6. Write 200 words every day (most likely for this blog)
  7. Create a budget for the school year
  8. Create a savings plan
  9. Start a savings account
  10. Read up on saving for retirement
  11. Figure out whether or not I want to defer loans, and how if needed
  12. Create a student loan payment schedule
  13. Work out 3 days a week (this one may be hard since I stand all day at my retail job)
  14. Post 2 blog posts a week
  15. Meet with my advisor to talk about our expectations now that I’m no longer an undergrad, and hopefully start to figure out what I am going to research
  16. Look into pursuing a minor in statistics during graduate school
  17. Do a deep clean of my apartment
  18. Do whatever it takes to reduce getting Starbucks and eating out to once per week (I make poor food choices when I’m tired or upset)
  19. Take 1 evening a week and just relax
  20. Figure out if I need clothes and purchase them (while I have my employee discount)

My goal is to do things now so that I don’t have to do them during the school year.  I have until about mid August to do all this.  For those of you have already gone through this do you have any suggestions?

About myscientificlife

Welcome to myscientificlife! I recently completed my undergrad at State University. I am currently taking a year off of school and applying to graduate schools. This lovely blog is mostly about my journey towards grad school and other things I find interesting, such as food, podcasts, and books. Probably mostly food. You can reach me at myscientificlife@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Goals, To Do. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

