How to read THE LITERATURE

Since discovering Mendelay, I’ve had more motivation to read papers.  At least I did until I started TAing again.  But let’s assume that I’ll still make time to read papers.  When I open up Mendelay to read, I’m not exactly sure what I should be reading. I’m at the end of my first year/beginning of my second year and have a general research topic.  Some days, I read papers on my study species.  Other days I read papers on a concept or idea I want to study. Some days, usually days where my brain feels like mush and I don’t feel like reading, I’ll read a paper on whatever sounds interesting at the moment.

I should probably have a strategy because 1) how on earth can I learn about a topic thoroughly if I don’t read a lot on it and 2) I will eventually need to start studying for candidacy.

But what should my system be?  Should I read by author/lab? By species? By topic?

Do you have a method for getting through the literature?  If so, what is your method?

About myscientificlife

Welcome to myscientificlife! I recently completed my undergrad at State University. I am currently taking a year off of school and applying to graduate schools. This lovely blog is mostly about my journey towards grad school and other things I find interesting, such as food, podcasts, and books. Probably mostly food. You can reach me at myscientificlife@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Grad school and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

