Life update

Since I haven’t been around a ton lately, I thought I would share a bit of what’s going on in my life right now.

Science!!

For the past 2 months I have been running an experiment.  I hope to get some preliminary data for when I apply to the NSF GRFP this fall.  I’m in my last week of data collection (YAY!).  There have been a couple of setbacks, but hopefully my data will turn out and I can have it analyzed before the NSF fellowship is due. To be honest, I’m looking forward to not having to be in the lab all day.

Teaching

I’m lucky to be in a department where they offer a 12 month stipend.  The catch is that you have to teach during the summer.  This summer I TAed a lab for an introductory biology course for majors (or premed students).  Overall, I’ve enjoyed it, but I’m glad I’m finished.  The summer version of this class is accelerated, so at times I was spending a ton of time grading and preparing for lab and recitation, which meant that at times I prioritized teaching over my research.  I’m still working on it, and hopefully by fall semester I’ll have a good schedule.

Side job

Some of you may remember that at the beginning of last year, I was debating whether or not to quit my retail job.   I’ve kept it, but because I have worked a grand total of 3 hours there.  Surprisingly, working a shift at the retail store was really nice.  I spent a few hours outside of the lab (made a few bucks), got to move around, and afterwards I felt great.  I had more energy after working that shift than any other time this summer.  Once my experiment is done, I may try to work a shift every couple of weeks for the change of pace.

Family stuff

So you know how there’s a graduation (and party), holiday, or wedding EVERY weekend during summer?  My summer has been especially busy with these type of events.  I had one sister graduate from high school and one graduate from college in May.  They both had their graduation parties and dinners.  Also, my dad got married recently.  All of these things were fun, but it ate up practically every minute I wasn’t in the lab.

New apartment (and moving)

The boyfriend and I moved to a new apartment recently, which is super exciting!  However, the packing and actual moving of stuff was the opposite of super exciting.  We thought we would try to make this new apartment NOT resemble a college kid’s apartment, so we decided to paint. The wonder folks on HGTV make painting look like a breeze.  Well, they are liars.  It takes forever.  It took an entire weekend for my boyfriend, his parents, and me to paint the apartment.  However it looks really good and I’m glad we did it.  Now if we could just unpack a few more boxes…

Vacation

I’m going on vacation next week!  The boyfriend and I are going on our first real vacation together to South Carolina.  I’m excited to spend some time away from school.

About myscientificlife

Welcome to myscientificlife! I recently completed my undergrad at State University. I am currently taking a year off of school and applying to graduate schools. This lovely blog is mostly about my journey towards grad school and other things I find interesting, such as food, podcasts, and books. Probably mostly food. You can reach me at myscientificlife@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Grad school, Random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

