Addicted to collecting papers

My name is Elizabeth and I may be addicted to collecting papers.  Seriously, I spend more time finding/downloading papers that I do reading them.

I think part of the reason I do this is because I’m still narrowing my research area.  But I have to admit, there is something satisfying about adding another PDF in my ‘Papers to read’ folder.

Downloading papers also feels productive, though it isn’t.  I haven’t read most of them yet, and every time I do read a paper, I find 10 more to download.

So I’ve decided that I am not going to find any papers for a month.  Unless my adviser tells me to, because what the adviser says trumps anything I say.

Do you find yourself endlessly downloading papers? If so, how do you stop? Or at least narrow down what you save?

About myscientificlife

Welcome to myscientificlife! I recently completed my undergrad at State University. I am currently taking a year off of school and applying to graduate schools. This lovely blog is mostly about my journey towards grad school and other things I find interesting, such as food, podcasts, and books. Probably mostly food. You can reach me at myscientificlife@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Grad school and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Addicted to collecting papers

  1. dustywaters says:

    I do this too. Only, I don’t always get around to reading them. That is when it becomes counter productive! I like to download them and then upload them onto Endnote, that way I have the PDF and the citation ready to go. Maybe make a point to read them after you’ve downloaded a handful (like five or so) that way it is less overwhelming.

  2. jdwatkins23 says:

    I’ve had this same problem myself. I use endnote to organize my papers but whenever I read one I find a bunch more in the references to read. I also hate to read on a computer and printing is free for me, so i just print them out and file them the old fashioned way. I know its not very environmentally friendly… ironically I am in the carbon capture and alternative energies sector. Until someone brings out a really good e-ink display that I can read a full PDF on and annotate, this is the best way.

Leave a comment